Welcoming & Hospitality

“Welcome is an alchemy. It is like a good wine. It is all at once the means and the result; namely the grape variety, the terroir, the know-how and the drunkenness. And it is also exceeding all these conditions to become a journey into an experience.” Jean-Luc Frusetta

If welcome is so important in our society, it is likely because most of our material needs are satisfied. The need for a better quality of life has therefore shifted the focus of the objective (the material) towards the subjective (the human relationship), especially in luxury where it is about providing a unique experience that helps the quest for identity.

Welcome is not innate, it is a practice

The concept of hospitality is very old, even prior to hospitality, although the two words are still used as synonyms. While the rituals of hospitality seem to us to be evident in the private life, there are many practices and a learning of welcoming in the professional sphere.

“Welcome is the origin of life!”  Pierre Gouirand

Every human relationship is based on welcome and acceptance. This is why the welcome can only be human. Welcoming ourselves, our feelings, our thoughts; Welcoming our sensations and stimulations; welcoming the others, their words, their emotions; welcoming our environment and the world. This opens the field over very broad areas such as human interactions, behavioral psychology and multicultural diversity.

Welcome is opening ourselves to the world and to the others.
Welcome is opening ourselves to the world and to the others.

Welcome means etymologically «moving towards someone” whereas usually we think at the contrary, with figures of hosts waiting for their guests in front of the door. We can also imagine the one that is welcoming motionless, behind a desk or a reception counter, and the one seeking to be welcomed going towards him. Here lies the difference between reception and welcome. The one who welcomes accept to get rid of the benefit to receive in his own territory, protected by its fortifications. It is when we remove our protections then the authentic welcome happens. Because when we agree to get unarmed, we trust the newcomer and accept him as a brother, as someone who does not want to hurt us, like someone we can go to with bare hands. Authentic welcome needs confidence, and practicing true hospitality involves recognizing our own vulnerability and being open to transformation.

It is therefore necessary to work on oneself to acquire the ability to host, because it is not natural to use and mobilize the two dynamics: to give and to receive. So we get mutual enrichment in every encounter. This is why welcome can never become a habit or be standardized. In the end, welcome is not a function, but a mission that relies on tangible and intangible aspects, while remaining essentially unpredictable.

“Authenticity is a key value that is growing up. We have to overcome the formal standards in welcoming to provide a unique welcome experience for each guest, which could not be found anywhere else than in this place.” Clement Hernandez

The myth of the traveler

There is a twofold expectation when one is travelling. On the one hand, he who is moving is constantly on guard, consciously or not. “The one who needs to be hosted is a fragile human being. He has the feeling of being a stranger, even if he is known by the one who is going to welcome him. He needs to be comforted, reassured and taken care of.” (Pierre Gouirand). On the other hand, he who travels carries within himself “the complex of Ulysses”. He is haloed. “He who travels is the one who is free, who has the means to go where others do not go, it is almost a god”. (Pierre Gouirand)

To welcome a traveler, we should know about its contradictory expertations.
To welcome a traveler, we should know about its contradictory expertations.

We should therefore welcome the guests with opposite expectations. On the one hand, they want to be reassured, protected and supported. And on the other hand, they want to receive the honors they feel due to their privileged position as a traveler. The authentic welcome therefore implies an effort, the will to please, to provide a genuine service and to serve with open-heartedness.

“He who welcomes must show that the presence of the host is always a joy, and like a mother with her child, that he cannot do without it.” Pierre Gouirand

Welcome is the essence of hospitality

When the psychological needs of the welcome are taken into account, it is then possible to move from a “courteous relationship” to an “authentic relationship”, that touches the heart and will leave a positive memory trace. This human dimension underlies the gift that is found in the welcome, with the creation of an experience that allows the guest to “feel like at home”.

“Offering hospitality is a gift given to someone, a present and an offering of oneself.” Alain Montandon

The 3 steps in welcoming.
Welcome is providing the guests recognition, hospitaltiy and care.

Therefore, welcome is a process of three logical sequences: Recognition of the guest by concrete gestures; hospitality, when meeting his expectations, exceeding them and solving his problems and finally, mothering to take care of him in various degrees. That’s why the tourist should be normally in touch only with the good side of life, since the hotel, the site or the destination plays a permeable partition, kind of family cocoon, soft, reassuring and safe. This slip leads us to luxury hotels. This is where the guests experience luxury finding services, products, material goods and attitudes that are all exclusive and unique, with a hyper personalization, a great attention to details and a high discretion to preserve their privacy.

Technology for more authenticity

Since the origin of luxury hotels, enthusiasts have invested in beautiful and human places to offer their guests moments of exception. Therefore, it is in this sector that the welcome experience provides what is best, and has to offer the authentic luxury. In addition, hotels have an unmistakable link with conviviality, and luxury hotels with gastronomy.

“Taking a meal is a huge trust given to the host, because the guest welcomes in his body an external food; it is the most intimate social and personal act that it is given to make and it is played in the hotels.” Jean-Luc Frusetta

The growth of technologies and the customers’ needs for “wow” experiences have become so important that it is essential today to work on the new practices that improve the quality of welcome in the luxury hotels. These new approaches challenge many issues like the guest experience, the innovative chez-in and check-out systems, rethinking customer interaction, digital concierge services, big data and customer databases, the layout of the lobby, the arrival and departure of the client, the customer path building a personalized relationship before / during / after the stay, customer loyalty, new services with home automation, sensorial marketing, local advices and real added value in tourism destination.

Innovation is fine when technology brings added-value for better human contacts.
Innovation is fine when technology brings added-value for better human contacts.

They bring significant benefits with improved customer insight to anticipate their needs, more time to allow the employees (concierges, reception advisors) to refocus on customer experience and human exchanges and new genuine services with the check-in tools. Technology is therefore a real opportunity, if the primary objective is to satisfy the customer and not to reduce the costs. Unanimously, the experts speak of a reversal that will allow the advent of the authentic luxury. It is going back to the very essence of the welcome, leaving the current standards with new skills and modes of management. In the end, the luxury hotel must remain human, communicating and friendly, with a staff that is happy to welcome the guests, with time left to fully invest in its mission and offer a tailor-made service for each customer. And with innovative managers who are ready to support their team, embodying the values ​​of the institution to build the loyalty of both guests and employees. This is the heart of the mission of welcome and hospitality.

Opening to the local environment

Finally, a major trend emerging is the openness to the local environment. The hotel becomes not only the place where they have chosen you to be accommodated, but also the gateway to discover the local treasures: historical, human, natural and cultural heritage and create an authentic experience that triggers their five senses. Luxury hotels must take this into account in their overall approach to the client: making guests feel at ease, creating links, and being a gateway to local actors and exceptional craftsmen and artists.

L’accueil et l’hospitalité

“L’accueil c’est une alchimie, c’est comme du bon vin. C’est tout à la fois les moyens et le résultat ; le cépage, le terroir, un savoir-faire et un savoir-être… puis dépasser ces conditions même de l’accueil pour faire voyager dans l’expérience.” Jean-Luc Frusetta

Si l’accueil tient une place aussi importante dans notre société, c’est vraisemblablement parce que, la plupart de nos besoins  matériels sont satisfaits. Le besoin d’une meilleure qualité de vie a donc déplacé le centre d’intérêt de l’objectif (le matériel) vers le subjectif (la relation humaine), surtout dans le luxe avec la recherche d’expérience et la quête d’identité.

Accueillir est un apprentissage

Le concept de l’accueil est très ancien, même antérieur à l’hospitalité, même si on utilise encore les deux mots comme des synonymes. Si les rituels de l’accueil nous semblent évidents dans la vie privée, il y a bien des pratiques et un apprentissage de l’accueil dans la sphère professionnelle.

“L’accueil, c’est l’origine de la vie !” Pierre Gouirand

Toute relation humaine est fondée sur l’accueil. C’est pour cela que l’accueil ne peut-être qu’humain. Accueil de soi, de ses ressentis, de ses pensées ; accueil des sensations, des stimulations ; accueil des autres, de leurs paroles, de leurs émotions ; accueil de l’environnement et du monde. Ceci ouvre le champ sur des domaines très vastes comme les interactions humaines, la psychologie comportementale, la diversité multiculturelle… Accueillir, c’est “aller vers”. On se représente toujours celui qui accueille immobile sur le pas de sa porte, derrière un bureau ou un comptoir de réception, et celui qui va être accueilli allant vers celui qui l’accueille… Or dans l’accueil, il y a toujours un acte volontaire de la part de l’hôte envers la personne accueillie. Et c’est en cela qu’il se différencie d’un service ou de la réception de quelqu’un. On obtient une rencontre authentique quand on enlève nos protections, pour être sur un terrain neutre, où chacun se montrera vulnérable.

Accueillir, c'est s'ouvrir au monde et aux autres.
Accueillir, c’est s’ouvrir au monde et aux autres.

Il est donc nécessaire de travailler sur soi pour acquérir la capacité d’accueillir, car il n’est pas naturel de mobiliser les deux dynamiques : donner et recevoir. Si on progresse, on obtient un enrichissement mutuel dans chaque rencontre. C’est pour cela que l’accueil ne peut jamais devenir une habitude ou être normalisé et standardisé. Car au final, l’accueil n’est pas une fonction, mais une mission qui s’appuie sur des aspects matériels et immatériels tout en restant imprévisible par essence.

Le mythe du voyageur

Il y a une double attente chez le voyageur. D’un côté, comme il se déplace, il est sur ses gardes, consciemment ou non. “Celui qui va être accueilli est un être fragile, angoissé par l’inconnu que représente l’ailleurs et qui est sur ses gardes. Il a le sentiment d’être étranger, même s’il est connu de celui qui va l’accueillir. Il a besoin d’être réconforté, rassuré et pris en charge.” Pierre Gouirand. D’un autre côté, celui qui voyage porte en lui ce que Gouirand appelle le complexe d’Ulysse. Il est auréolé. “Celui qui voyage, c’est celui qui est libre, qui a les moyens d’aller là où d’autres ne vont pas, c’est presque un dieu.”

Pour bien accueillir un voyageur, il faut tenir compte de ses attentes contradictoires.
Pour bien accueillir un voyageur, il faut tenir compte de ses attentes contradictoires.

Il s’agit donc d’accueillir des clients aux attentes opposées. D’une part, ils veulent être rassurés, protégés, pris en charge. Et d’autre part, ils veulent recevoir les honneurs qu’ils estiment dû à leur position privilégiée de voyageur. La relation d’accueil implique ainsi obligatoirement un effort, la volonté de plaire, de rendre service, de servir.

“Celui qui reçoit, qui accueille doit montrer que la présence de l’hôte est toujours une joie, qu’il ne peut pas s’en passer.” Pierre Gouirand

De l’accueil à l’hospitalité

La prise en compte des besoins psychologiques de l’accueil permettent de passer d’une “relation courtoise” à une relation authentique, celle qui touche au cœur, celle qui laissera une trace. Cette dimension humaine sous-tend le don que l’on trouve dans l’hospitalité, avec la création d’une expérience qui permet à l’invité de “se sentir comme chez lui”.

“Offrir l’hospitalité c’est donner quelque chose à quelqu’un, c’est présenter et offrir quelque chose de soi.” Alain Montandon

L'accueil est un enchaînement de trois processus.
L’accueil permet de reconnaître, offrir l’hospitalité et prendre soin d’un voyageur.

L’accueil serait un processus de trois enchaînements logiques: La reconnaissance du client par des gestes concrets; l’hospitalité c’est-à-dire répondre à ses attentes, les dépasser et résoudre ses problèmes; le maternage enfin pour le prendre en charge à divers degrés. Le touriste est donc normalement en contact qu’avec les bons côtés de la vie, puisque l’hôtel, le site, la destination joue un rôle de cloison perméable, sorte de cocon familial, doux, rassurant et sécurisant. Ce glissement nous conduit à l’hôtellerie de luxe. C’est là que les clients expérimentent le luxe en vivant l’exclusif et l’inédit, avec une hyper personnalisation et attention aux détails, et une grande discrétion pour préserver leur intimité.

La technologie pour plus d’humain

Depuis l’origine de l’hôtellerie de luxe, des passionnés ont investi dans des lieux magnifiques et dans l’humain pour offrir à leurs hôtes des moments d’exception. C’est dans ce secteur que l’accueil se voudrait être ce qui se fait de mieux, et donc d’offrir le luxe authentique. L’hôtellerie a aussi un lien indéfectible avec la convivialité, et l’hôtellerie de luxe avec la gastronomie et tous les produits de luxe, qu’ils soient des services ou des biens matériels.

“Prendre son repas et faire confiance à l’hôtelier pour manger, donc accueillir dans son corps une nourriture externe, c’est l’acte social et personnel le plus intime  qu’il soit donné et il se joue dans les hôtels.” Jean-Luc Frusetta

L’essor des technologies et le besoin des clients de vivre des expériences sont devenus tellement prégnants qu’il est indispensable aujourd’hui de travailler sur les nouvelles pratiques pour améliorer la qualité de l’accueil dans les grands hôtels de luxe. Ces nouvelles pratiques remettent en question des sujets aussi divers que la fluidification du parcours client, le check-in innovant, repenser l’interaction avec le client, l’accueil numérique, le métier de concierge, le big data et les bases de données client, l’agencement de l’espace d’accueil,  l’arrivée et le départ du client, le suivi de la relation client avant / pendant / après le séjour, la fidélisation de la clientèle, les nouveaux services avec la domotique, le marketing sensoriel, le conseil personnalisé et à vraie valeur ajoutée…

L'innovation peut apporter une vraie valeur ajoutée si la technologie permet plus d'humanité dans les relations.
L’innovation peut apporter une vraie valeur ajoutée si la technologie permet plus d’humanité dans les relations.

Elles apportent des bénéfices importants : mieux connaître les clients et anticiper ses besoins, dématérialiser la conciergerie pour permettre aux concierges de se recentrer sur l’expérientiel client, donner plus de temps aux échanges humains avec les outils de check-in, offrir de nouveaux services personnalisés… La technologie est donc une réelle opportunité, à condition d’avoir pour objectif premier la satisfaction du client et non la réduction des charges. De manière unanime, les experts parlent d’un retournement « salvateur » pour l’avènement d’un luxe authentique. Il s’agit de revenir aux fondements même de l’accueil en sortant des standards actuels, avec de nouvelles compétences et modes de management. Au final, l’hôtel de luxe doit impérativement rester humain, communicant et convivial. Pour cela, il faut un personnel heureux d’accueillir, ayant dégagé du temps pour s’investir complètement dans sa mission et proposer un service sur-mesure pour chaque client. Il faut aussi des managers prêts à les appuyer, incarnant les valeurs de l’établissement à la fois avec les clients et vis-à-vis des employés eux-mêmes. C’est là le cœur de la mission d’accueil et d’hospitalité.

S’ouvrir à l’environnement local

Enfin, une tendance majeure qui émerge est l’ouverture à l’environnement local. L’hôtel devient non seulement le lieu d’hébergement choisi, mais la passerelle pour découvrir les richesses locales: patrimoine historique, humain, naturel, culturel… les clients voulant les vivre dans une relation authentique qui sollicite leur cinq sens. L’hôtellerie de luxe doit en tenir compte dans son approche globale du client : mettre les hôtes à l’aise entre eux, créer des liens et être une passerelle vers les acteurs locaux qui font le luxe véritable.

WordPress Backup